The Australian Queer Archives Inc. is a community-based, non-profit organisation, registered as Incorporated Association A0000240Z under the Associations Incorporation Act 1981 in Victoria.

We are an income tax exempt charity and have Deductible Gift Recipient status with the Australian Taxation Office (ABN 92450443760). All donations over $2 are tax-deductible.

The association is run by a committee of management, elected annually by membership, which meets most months of the year. This ensures that ownership and control of the collection remains within the LGBTIQ+ community. We are independent of any other organisation.

Our rules of association (pdf) govern our operation and we are currently working towards implementing the goals laid out in our strategic plan.

The committee members for 2020 are:

  • Angela Bailey (President)
  • Timothy Jones (Vice-President)
  • Clare O’Halloran (Secretary)
  • Graham Willett (Treasurer)
  • Daniel Marshall
  • Sarah Rood
  • Nick Henderson
  • Richard Keeble
  • Yorick Smaal

The committee has appointed a finance subcommittee to prepare ALGA’s financial statements and budgets, and make financial policy recommendations to the committee. It meets four times per year. The finance subcommittee members are:

  • Timothy Jones
  • Graham Willett
  • Gary Jaynes
  • Darren Williamson

Revenue is generated from membership fees, fundraising, and tax-deductible donations. Our annual reports contain our financial statements.